T S Eliot Prize for Poetry 2008

The Poetry Book Society has announced  the winner of the 2008 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry: Jen Hadfield for her second collection Nigh-No-Place. She wrote the poems whilst in Shetland and also travelling across Canada. According to The Guardian (Jen Hadfield wins TS Eliot prize for poetry) Hadfield is ‘a relative newcomer to poetry who has been widely praised for her passion and awareness of the natural world’.

Previous winners of the prize, created in 1993 by The Poetry Book Society (whose website appears to be ‘under construction’—but follow the link provided to The Poetry Bookshop Online), include Seamus Heaney, Carol Ann Duffy, Don Paterson and Ted Hughes.

Out of 90 books submitted by publishers, the winner was chosen from the following shortlist of ten titles:

Europa by Moniza Alvi

The Glass Swarm by Peter Bennet

For All We Know by Ciaran Carson

Full Volume by Robert Crawford

Life Under Water by Maura Dooley

Theories and Apparitions by Mark Doty

Nigh-No-Place by Jen Hadfield [WINNER]

The Lost Leader by Mick Imlah

Hide Now by Glyn Maxwell

Yellow Studio by Stephen Romer


About homlib

The Library of Homerton College, University of Cambridge.
This entry was posted in Book awards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s