Poets Jo Shapcott and Derek Walcott win awards

Two book prizes were won by poets this week. First, it was announced on Monday that Derek Walcott was the winner of the TS Eliot Prize for Poetry for his collection White egrets (Faber & Faber). Then, the following day, Jo Shapcott was awarded the Costa Book of the Year Award for her book Of mutability (also Faber & Faber).

The shortlist for the TS Eliot Prize for Poetry (ten books) was: Seeing Stars by Simon Armitage, The Mirabelles by Annie Freud, You by John Haynes, Human chain by Seamus Heaney, What the water gave me by Pascale Petit, The wrecking light by Robin Robertson, Rough music by Fiona Sampson, Phantom noise by Brian Turner, White egrets by Derek Walcott, and New light for the old dark by Sam Willetts.

The shortlists for the Costa Book Awards are in  five categories and were were posted here. The winners of each category (announced 4 January) were: Novel Award: The hand that first held mine by Maggie O’Farrell; First Novel Award: Witness the night by Kishwar Desai; Biography Award: The hare with amber eyes by Edmund de Waal; Poetry Award: Of mutability by Jo Shapcott; and the Children’s Book Award: Out of shadows by Jason Wallace.

We hope to acquire the two prize winning poetry books for the Library.

The Guardian: TS Eliot prize goes to Derek Walcott for ‘moving and technically flawless’ work and Jo Shapcott takes Costa Book of the Year Award for Of Mutability.


About homlib

The Library of Homerton College, University of Cambridge.
This entry was posted in Book awards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s