New members of the library team – James and Alys

We are very happy to welcome two new staff members, James Brigden and Alys Butler. We have asked James to introduce himself:

New staff member - James

New staff member – James

Hi, my name is James and I am the library’s new cataloguer. After reading Politics at university I headed to Cambridge where I spent two years working at the Faculty of Education. I then went slightly further afield and taught English in Spain for a year. Returning to Cambridge, I worked in the Iberian languages department at the University Library before joining the team here at Homerton Library this summer. I live in a cosy corner of the first floor of the library where my time will be spent retrospectively cataloguing a large chunk of the library’s collection. Feel free to approach me anytime for questions, comments or just conversation. I also have my own blog: http://jamesbrigdenonfilm.blogspot.co.uk/

You may have met Alys already as she has been volunteering with us for a while (and has previously blogged about the work she has been doing). We are pleased that she has now joined us as a part-time Library Assistant. The cataloguing work that James is doing results in a lot of books needing to be re-labelled with new shelf-marks (or just replacing the old, faded handwritten ones), so it’s great to have an extra pair of hands around to help with this!

About homlib

The Library of Homerton College, University of Cambridge.
This entry was posted in General Library News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

