Meet a new member of the Library team- Rosie

I’m Rosie Austin, the new Senior Library Assistant at Homerton College library.

Rosie

You will be able to easily find me at the main Enquiry desk so please come and say hello or ask any question or query. I am happy to show you where something is located in the Library or search for an item on the catalogue to make it easier for you to develop your learning and make use of all the resources available to you. There is no such thing as a silly question (and we have probably heard them all before anyway!).

It might not be as popular as wanting to be an astronaut, but I have always wanted to be a Librarian ever since I was a child. After reading all the children’s books in the town Library, I was lucky to meet a fantastic Librarian who helped encourage my love of reading and sparked my interest in Librarianship. I enjoy the focus on customer service and thrive on finding out new pieces of information so I am glad that I continued to pursue a career as a
qualified Librarian after completing my History degree.

Prior to beginning work at Homerton, I worked as a solo secondary school librarian. As well as answering every question imaginable, I helped introduce young people to the wonders of quality literature, how to navigate a library, and improve their research skills. Selecting and cataloguing a wide variety of picture books and keeping up to date with current trends in Children’s and Young Adult fiction was essential in order to run a happy library and I look forward to continuing this at Homerton.

I will also be sharing any new additions to our Library collection via Pinterest and tweeting about news and updates to the Library. If you are interested, please join the conversation by subscribing to the blog or Twitter. You can find us @homlib. We are happy to hear your feedback on the Library services and how we can help support your learning throughout your time at Homerton.

Librarian stats

Favourite book: Possession by A.S Byatt because of the amazing description of the London Library
Currently reading: Eleanor & Park by YA author Rainbow Rowell because I love her other books including the popular book Fangirl, and I was lucky enough to meet her recently on her UK tour (you can borrow a copy of Eleanor & Park from the Children’s Literature collection at Homerton).
What I do in my spare time: Crochet, watch bad disaster movies and visit libraries on holiday.

About homlib

The Library of Homerton College, University of Cambridge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

